Family

Aaron’s brother Mose and I got very close to each other when he was in L.A., and I hadn’t seen him since March. So even though I was nervous about meeting their mom and brother Wolde, I was so excited to see Mose again. When I met their Mommy, I felt like I had known her for a long time, and wondered what I was so nervous about. And Wolde was such a cool and funny guy, and made me feel like part of the family.

The family is Habesha, from Ethiopa, and emigrated to Sweden when Mose and Aaron were eight years old. Their home is filled with reminders of their homeland and symbols of their culture. And lots of Jesus and Mary pictures.

Mom did the Ethiopian Coffee Ceremony, which involved taking the green coffee beans, roasting them over the fire, grinding them, and put in a special vessel where the water and beans are boiled. Also, there was FRANKINCENSE involved! And popcorn. Oh, and the coffee was amazing.

The second time I met Mom she gave me a traditional Ethiopian shirt, and of course wanted me to try it on, which is why you see this white guy wearing this African garb.

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset
Bro’s before ho’s.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset
Mommy.

IMG_3637
Roasting the beans.

Processed with VSCOcam with e5 preset
Coffee ceremony.

Processed with VSCOcam with q1 preset
The Araya brothers.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Dinner… homemade injera!

Processed with VSCOcam with e3 preset
Injera with doro wat.

Leave a comment